There isn’t really a specific term for SBTRKT‘s production style, but we’ve seen it called “future bass” and since it seems appropriate we’ll call it that. His work is versatile, the combination of dub, ambient, techno and soul, along with virtually everything else in between, makes his music insanely unique. He made our Coachella Daze series as an act we all thought you should watch for, and his first single off his then presumed self-titled LP, Wildfire, lit a flame of anticipation for what he’d come out with next. That next thing being his first full-length album, and it’s pretty damn good. Yes it’s experimental, but there are a variety of different feels as you journey throughout the whole thing, making it very, VERY well rounded and definitely worth st least 1 listen all the way through.

It’s always intriguing to stumble upon music that could be that “next” thing, and SBTRKT’s stuff might be just that. Chill on these tunes for a while and get on one of those good trains of thought. You know what I’m talking about.

Preview/Purchase SBTRKT LP

01. Heatwave
02. Hold On

03. Wildfire

04. Sanctuary
05. Trials Of The Past
06. Right Thing To Do

07. Something Goes Right
08. Pharoahs

09. Ready Set Loop
10. Never Never

11. Go Bang


Posted on June 29, 2011 in Music

Share the Story

About the Author

The stars are brighter in space

Responses (4)

  1. matthewcorbett
    July 11, 2011 at 3:25 pm · Reply

    Here is an awesome vid of Drake performing wildfire with SBTRKT live in Toronto.

  2. Smam
    September 6, 2011 at 7:00 am · Reply

    Just recently got this album. It is a fucking beast of an album!! Be skanking all night long.

  3. […] immensely successful 2011 was definitely well deserved. His self-titled debut album was without a doubt one of the top albums of the year, opening up the pathway for a future-bass […]

  4. […] Check out SBTRKT Music below SBTRKT ‘SBTRKT’ LP SBTRKT BBC Radio1 Essential Mix More […]

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Back to Top